May08

Yet *another* site "inspired" by mine

I guess this is what happens when I post the URL of my site on various forums etc.

Those of you who read my blog regularly will know I have experienced people copying my sites in the past.

Well the latest asswipe to do this is ZLseller.com. Have a look at my site first below then the cheapo rip-off site after.



Did you spot the difference? This muppet has copied just about everything from my site, from my text to the images.

My only consolation is that if the best that this idiot can do is to blatantly copy sites then he/she/it won’t have a hope in hell in succeeding at Affiliate Marketing.

What I’m listening to right now: Chris Brown - “Yo (Excuse Me Miss)”

Affiliate Marketing - Copyright Theft

Topics: Uncategorized | 19 comments so far

Monday, May 8th, 2006 at 1:29 am and is filed under Uncategorized. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

RSS feed | Trackback URI

19 comments, sweet! »

Comment by Anonymous
MyAvatars 0.2

May 8th, 2006 at 1:04 pm

This person is blatantly taking the micky.

Is there nothing you can do?

 
Comment by Anonymous
MyAvatars 0.2

May 8th, 2006 at 1:46 pm

thats terrible hope you sent them a cease and desist email

 
Comment by Web Marketing
MyAvatars 0.2

May 8th, 2006 at 4:53 pm

Keiron don’t give them a boost by linking to them!

Steven

 
Comment by Paul Wright
MyAvatars 0.2

May 8th, 2006 at 4:54 pm

Wow, unbelievable rip off and even has the cheek to put a copyright claim at the bottom to boot! I’m sure you have a legal case here but if they are one of these rogue anonymous types I’m sure you could rally up some support from Affiliate Managers/Network people who can remove him from their top performing programs.

p.

 
Comment by Anonymous
MyAvatars 0.2

May 8th, 2006 at 4:54 pm

How do you find out who is copying your site?

 
Comment by Anonymous
MyAvatars 0.2

May 9th, 2006 at 12:36 am

This is realy easy, just make a DMCA request to his host or email them and they will take it down!

 
Comment by Anonymous
MyAvatars 0.2

May 9th, 2006 at 5:28 pm

Hi Kieron,

Today is the first time I’ve looked at your blog- I’m very new to affiliate marketing. I cannot believe someone has so blatantly copied your site- there seems to be such a seedy underbelly to Affiliate marketing!

I am the site producer of http://www.youdirect.net, a division of http://www.unanimis.co.uk . It is an incentives website, but I am beginning to bring more features onto it, such as games and quizzes.

If you have any advice on who I should work with, how I could increase traffic to my site, that would be great- as I said Im pretty new to all this.

Best,

Victoria Thomas
site producer
http://www.youdirect.net
victoria@unanimis.co.uk
0207 299 0996

P.S I am a big prince fan too!

 
Comment by Nazam.com
MyAvatars 0.2

May 9th, 2006 at 11:04 pm

That’s such a rip off! The idiot’s got a prominent on-page error message on the top of his site already.

Kieron, you should contact CJ and the other affiliate networks this cheat is using and get him kicked off their networks.

Nothing beats your site, so don’t let these copycats get you down.

 
Comment by Anonymous
MyAvatars 0.2

May 10th, 2006 at 3:16 pm

Maybe he left your affiliate id in there too ;)

Richard

 
Comment by iamcanadian
MyAvatars 0.2

May 10th, 2006 at 4:52 pm

What a crock! Is there any legal action you can take? It burns me to see people who can’t come up their OWN ideas, but to blatently rip off your website EXACTLY! I am angry for you. How did you discover this?

 
Comment by Kieron
MyAvatars 0.2

May 10th, 2006 at 11:37 pm

Thanks for all your support guys, I actually found the site due to a kindly soul who emailed me to tell me about it. I’ve been in contact with the person responsible for the rip off and he has agreed to remove my coprighted images/text…we’ll see if he does.

 
Comment by Anonymous
MyAvatars 0.2

May 11th, 2006 at 10:15 am

Kieron.

You need to remove the link from your blog as you’re giving this person a boost by linking.

S.

 
Comment by Kieron
MyAvatars 0.2

May 11th, 2006 at 10:16 am

I put the link up in the hope that he will see this blog and the comments. 1 link won’t do him any good.

 
Comment by Anonymous
MyAvatars 0.2

May 11th, 2006 at 1:07 pm

I wouldn’t have even bothered emailing him asking to remove it. Besides, if he had the time to respond to your email, why didn’t he take the site down at the same time? He’s probably just fobbing you off and has no intention to take it down.

Send an email to his host letting them know. If they are half decent, they should take the site down immediately.

 
Comment by BigTree
MyAvatars 0.2

May 11th, 2006 at 2:04 pm

Hi Kieron,

This stuff really angers me. All the time, effort and money we use to create our sites and someone just copies it all. Not even taking the time to alter anything.

If the ‘creater’ doesn’t take the site down immediatly I think you should be one of, if not, the first AM to take a law suit out for online copyright fraud. With your resources I’m sure it wouldn’t hurt the bank and would set an example to others.

Just think, the publicity online and in the media would be worth it alone!

Mike

 
Comment by twme
MyAvatars 0.2

May 11th, 2006 at 8:01 pm

Hi Kieran

Firstly great blog it keeps my inspiration going

Can nothing be done legally about this?

If i was to open a high street shop next to thomas cook and call it tom cook and sold holiday I would be soon in court?

All of your sites inspire me and I would never dream of such a direct copy, you wouldnot go into a shop and steal some thing you liked would you??!!!!

Talking about web design what program did you use to create UK Offer and what are the benefits, flaws etc of that program and do you know of any other good web design programs without breaking the bank!!

Keep up the good work

Tristan
http://www.twme.co.uk

 
Comment by me
MyAvatars 0.2

May 12th, 2006 at 8:42 am

Well if it’s any comfort you are not alone.

You could even get your site featured on this site.

http://archive.pirated-sites.com/

 
Comment by Anonymous
MyAvatars 0.2

June 2nd, 2006 at 1:00 pm

re: Paul Wright comment

Now, I may well be wrong here but which came first ukoffer.com or shopcrazy.co.uk - which I suspect is Pauls’ site with a hidden link to it from http://www.djsource.co.uk/16/64/ ???

But then again, I could be completely barking up the wrong tree.

What am I listening to now? Prince - Billy Jack Bitch

 
Comment by Anonymous
MyAvatars 0.2

June 20th, 2006 at 3:23 pm

Look at zlseller.com now. It’s terrible.

 

What do you think? Join the discussion...

Name (required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
Website
Subscribe to comments via email
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)

Blog Design