SilverArrowMarketing.com have ripped off my site


Do these sites look familiar to you? The first is clicktobingo.com and the second is my site, bingo.org.uk. Ripoff? Yes indeed. What makes it worse is that quick check of the whois shows that the site is run by SilverArrowMarketing.com, an affiliate management/SEO company who SHOULD KNOW BETTER. I urge anybody who comes across these parasites to run a mile and not touch them with a 10 foot bargepole. Let's see if they come back to me with the standard "we had no idea our designer has done this" line. Dodgy ripoff site: Dodgy parasites My site: Bingo.org.uk What I'm listening to right now: Lauryn Hill Mix

This entry was posted in Affiliate Marketing. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to SilverArrowMarketing.com have ripped off my site

  1. If it’s any consolation Kieron your site is much more appealing and shouts this is a site for bingo ladies whereas the copy site sreams as you say dodgy ripoff site.

  2. Rich G says:

    They have used different colours! If people are copying your work I guess you must be doing something right (cleverest person in the class syndrome). If these cowboys have done a straight copy I really don’t think you have anything to worry about, Been following your site for about a month now – not 100% sure how succesful your work and sites are but would guess you are doing ok. Like the way you do business.

  3. Richard says:

    Different colours AND crappy images on the rip-off site – makes it completely different

    At least you’ve got the fantastic domain on your side Kieron!

    Just out of interest, what did you use to take the screenshots? I’ve not seen any that cover the whole page before that have been as wide as those.

  4. Gary says:

    We have had our last two designs copied, The last one we found even still had video’s for us and our names in the content. all they did was change the contact number and address.

  5. Steven says:

    Pretty much all they have changed is the background image. The other slight changes show the designer hasn’t clue what’s they’re doing. Check out the help guide, the text isn’t positioned well at all and all it would take is some padding. Looks like they have perfected their site ripping skills though.

  6. Jonathan says:

    The HTML/CSS structures of the two sites are almost identical, certainly far too close for comfort.

    A quick copyright infringement letter from your solicitor should sort it out. I believe that the CSS won’t be covered but that the HTML might. Alternatively you could go after them for attempted ‘passing off’ but that might be harder to establish. Good luck!

  7. Hugh says:

    Wow, cheeky!

    It’s amazing how frequently I see this happen though. Thing that really gets me is, it’s not hard to find unique WordPress themes for cheap on Themeforest and sites like that.

    But then again, they didn’t even bother setting up WordPress – they just copied the output from your site wholesale! Muppets.

  8. Essay says:

    Why there name was in whois database? You must protect that info otherwise you will loose your domain.

  9. Starstruck says:

    Essay – that comment makes no sense whatsoever.

    Kieron – Why would you possibly want to give them 2 dofollow links to the offending sites?

  10. Kieron says:

    To get their attention and because I couldn’t be chewed to make then no follow. Besides it’s not that important in the grand scheme of things,

  11. Starstruck says:

    So you’re willing to give the alleged thief two brilliant links from a trusted source? That’ll really teach them a lesson not to do it again…

    I’ve wrote about scamming companies on my own site and I’ve never ever gave them a proper link. You can always send them a 1 line email containing nothing but the url to make sure they see it.

    Would you tell your contentnow clients that “link building isn’t that important”? Didn’t think so ;)

  12. Kieron says:

    I never said link building isn’t important. I just said that a couple of links from my blog doesn’t concern me one bit. It’s simply not that big a deal :)

  13. tires says:

    Kieron, that’s really unfortunate to see, I guess taking it from a positive side, you have been an “influencer” and a leader if others want to copy you like that. I’ve had that happen to me as well, I can tell you it is frustrating but at the same time its one of those deals where theres not much you can do

    Till then,

    Jean

  14. car battery says:

    Wow, that is very disappointing. But like tires said, take it as a compliment if you will. It means your site is good enough to leave such a lasting impression on people that they’re willing to copy it to make themselves look good too. :)

  15. Your website is definately more appealing and professional, personally i wouldn’t trust the rip of site so wouldn’t touch it but yours on the other hand looks safe and professional. This also proves why a good design is so key these days!

  16. Starstruck says:

    Maybe I’m just more childish than the average poster, but is it only me that thinks its funny “Car Battery” is talking to “Tyres” :)

    “Web design Norwich” (god, can nobody use a name or nickname around here…. the problem is a site like that is going to be found on Google by someone searching for bingo related terms. They’re never going to even realise the site has been ripped off, or compare them side to side.

    So it doesn’t actually prove anything about good design being needed – affil commissions are going to be paid just the same on the fake site as they are on the real one.

  17. Harvey says:

    Didn’t realise you owned Bingo.org.uk!

    After looking at that Silver Arrow Marketing website i wouldn’t touch because their site looks terrible. How can they produce creatives with a site that looks like that.

  18. It feels really annoying to see these kinds of ripoffs…

    Anyway, I’ve heard a few similar story which at the end they come to you saying “we had no idea our designer has done this”…

  19. Like someone mentioned above, take it as a compliment if nothing else. It’s definite proof of how good your site looks that someone would just duplicate it for their own.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

image about me  

image Welcome to my blog. My name is Kieron Donoghue and I am the founder of ShareMyPlaylists.com, ContentNow.co.uk and some other stuff. I have no idea why I'm blue on this photo though but I like it!

image

what i’m listening to

image

subscribe to the rss feed

 

image

find me on facebook

 

image

follow me on twitter

 

image

see what i’m listening to on sharemyplaylists